Ponderings: Spontaneity and Serendipity

Spontaneity is something that I have been working with for many months. Now that I look back on things, I guess spontaneity would have to be my word of the year, because I let myself go with the flow and do things. Or not. And for me this was very freeing, to be able to let my emotions take me where they want to go instead of getting cooped up in a cage while I debate with myself that there are more important and urgent things for me to do.

Granted, there have been trade offs that I willingly made. But I have not felt so connected to art since I allowed myself to get into this years ago. I realised that I can’t always do art by following a schedule, and embracing the way I work makes me a happier person than to go against it. I know many people encourage others to do art every day, even if it’s for a few minutes. But it didn’t work too well for me, for I can’t stand the idea or merely dedicated a few minutes each day – it’s either I do it properly or not. So let it free, and do what suits you best.

With spontaneity comes serendipity. I find myself liking the stuff I create on a whim more, even if they may seem odd or out of place or rough and in general imperfect. Because whenever I make plans for an art journal page, they never materialise. They just get stuck as plans. And that’s also why I like my current art journal too, though its pages are soon to end.

I leave you with one art journal page that I worked on just moments before I posted. It’s probably not going to make any sense or tell any story to anyone but myself, but I’m still drawn to it.

Watercolour pencils dipped in water
Both images are created using the same technique but at completely different time. That’s also another thing about spontaneity – starting and stopping as you like
Leave a Reply

