Scrapbook Circle October Sketch Challenge

20151011_100412

Another Scrapbook Sketch Challenge completed for the month of October! Picture taken is a little slanted this time but at least it’s clear (click photo to enlarge)! You can find the original sketch, as well as other take on the sketch challenge here.

This time it’s Christmas theme, a little inspired by the Christmas themed card challenge from SC that I previously mentioned. The photos were printed at the same time and I spent the past couple of days working out this layout. I don’t exactly follow the sketch, because I like to have some freedom but the basic idea is there. I don’t actually have any Christmas themed paper because Christmas isn’t really a special occasion for me (my family don’t celebrate Christmas) so I don’t actually need to use any Christmas themed supplies. I was lucky then that I recently bought the Wonder 12×12 paper pad from Crate Paper and they had this red paper that can pass for Christmas.

There are definitely more photos than the sketch asked for but I was sure I wanted to include all the four photos onto the same layout. I have the darker photos featuring lights decoration from last year’s Christmas Markets in several European cities and then a bright one juxtaposed at the bottom taken on the first great snowfall in Innsbruck on Boxing Day last year. The dark photos don’t show up too well on the picture but it’s possible to make out the details in real life.

I did the titling with a silver Thickers from AC and then journaled in black in the spot to its right. I also framed the photos to make it appears as a layer using a mint green thin washi tape which reminded me of Christmas. The final embellishments just included a couple of heart stickers in coordinating colours (red on the top, and green on the bottom) and then a couple of pearls in a triangle formation at the top right cluster. I contemplated putting a set of them at the bottom left, but it looks too empty so I decided to leave the bottom area less embellished and simple to give the top cluster greater focus.

On a completely random note, I was listening to Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony while I typed this. Always loved Mendelssohn’s work and the 3rd movement in particular is stuck in my mind at the moment. Thanks for sticking to the end, hope you like the layout (:

Products used: Patterned paper from Crate Paper Wonder Collection | AC Thickers Cecily | mt 6mm in mint green stripe | heart stickers from The Paper Stone (no longer selling) | pearl embellishments from my local scrapbook store | Uniball signo 0.38 black pen | TOYO glue tape |

Disclaimer: None of the links are sponsored. Only the mt tape and heart stickers links to the shop where I actually bought the products. All other product links are included for reference only.

 

One thought on “Scrapbook Circle October Sketch Challenge

Leave a Reply

